holiday spice cranberry blondies

20 Nov

Sometimes I like to bake in the evening after the baby goes to bed. It kind of destresses me. I try to make not-too-evil stuff by using unrefined sugars, good fats, and sprouted, whole grain, or nut flours.  I mean, I still wouldn’t call it super healthy, but at least I don’t feel like I’m killing us all with love. Tonight I went all Thanksgiving-y and the results were deeelicious.  The base was a plain jane blondie recipe I copied out of a cookbook I got out of the library, but I changed some ingredients and the method, so at this point I guess the recipe is really mine, eh?

(I like to give credit where it’s due for any recipes I post, so the cookbook is Essential Eating by Janie Quinn – which is good for some of the recipes, but if you try to read it for nutrition advice, writing style, or even internal consistency you’ll drive yourself crazy).

holiday spice cranberry blondie

HOLIDAY SPICE CRANBERRY BLONDIES
makes 8 big blondies or 12 small ones

ingredients:
1/3 cup butter
1 cup coconut palm sugar or maple sugar (or maybe brown sugar?)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup sprouted wheat flour or whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp pie spice
1/2 cup dried sweetened cranberries

1. Preheat oven to 350 and generously butter a 9×9 inch pan.
2. Melt the butter and then mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla.
3. In a separate bowl mix together the flour, salt, baking powder, and pie spice.
4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until combined. Stir in the cranberries. The dough will be very thick.
5. Spread the dough into the buttered pan, being sure to get it in the corners.
6. Bake for 20 minutes.
7. Do a little dance of impatience as the pan cools for a few minutes, then slice and devour. I think a mug of rooibos tea would have gone nicely as well.

Leave a Reply

