surgery

17 Dec

We’ve been a bit topsy turvy lately so I haven’t posted in awhile. The baby had emergency surgery for an incarcerated umbilical hernia a day or two after my last post. It was an exhausting ordeal involving lots of vomit, the ER, an ambulance transfer to the children’s hospital, surgery under general anesthesia, multiple failed IVs, an overnight hospital stay, and some new gray hairs for me and Mike. At least the baby’s only memory of it will (hopefully) be the tiny little scar under her belly button.

 

postop from an incarcerated umbilical hernia
My brave little baby sleeping the anesthesia off post-op.

Being a parent is some seriously scary shit sometimes.

3 Responses to “surgery”

  1. Diane December 18, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Can’t look at this picture without tears in my eyes:(

  2. Tracy December 19, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Poor baby girl! It sounds like you and Mike were super brave through the whole thing. I’m so glad to hear that the surgery was successful. I have so many hugs for all of you 🙂

  3. Gary April 13, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    You know, I have been shot at and stabbed, been in a helicopter crash, car wrecks, and way too many fights, but the most sheer terror I’ve ever felt was when my boy was hurt. The most scared I ever was was when he got hit by a car while riding his bike. The two minutes from when someone told me what had happened until I got to where he was were the worst moments of my entire life.

Leave a Reply

