more baking

18 Apr

I’ve become obsessed with the idea of baking bread. After some insightful commenting on my last post, I realized that instead of my haphazard flitting from recipe to recipe that I should pick one simple all-purpose kind of loaf and practice making it multiple times until I figure out what the heck is going on. I’ve decided on the white mountain bread from Beth Hensperger’s “The Bread Bible.” I got the book out of the library and I’ve been poring over the technique section in the front (well as much as one can pore with an 18-month-old around) and reading and re-reading the recipe itself. My tentative plan is to practice this loaf, which uses all white flour, until I get something edible (maybe even good), then move onto the recipe for Tassajara whole wheat bread, which uses all whole wheat flour.

I am usually an instant gratification kind of person, so waiting until tomorrow morning to start baking is making me itchy.

Leave a Reply

